Day 14 Mind Connection: Fear. What a useless feeling!

Mind Connection: Psalms 27

Today I was reminded that through any circumstance; I never have to be afraid. In the 27th chapter of Psalms, David is crying out to the Lord. Fear is a dark shadow that lurks about and imprisons us from the inside. Fear comes in many forms such as, rejection, misunderstanding, uncertainty, sickness and even death. 

The only way to conquer our fear is by trusting Gods plan. We have to think and speak the truth God has taught us. We have to do this on a regular basis. I remember a time in my life when I had fear all around me. It was a fear of the unknown and I was so stuck. I could not even speak about it to anyone, and sometimes I did not even know why I was so scared. I just felt this incredible fear. Ultimately that led to panic attacks and anxiety, which can be serious to anyone. It took a tremendous amount of prayer to overcome my fear; even still I have my moments. Fear no longer rule my life, but it was good to get a reminder while reading Psalms 27 today. 

David has reminded me: “The Lord is my light and my salvation.” As I walk through the darkness of this world I have the brightness light to guide my way. A light that never goes dim is exactly what God is to us. I adore reading about David and in some instances I can totally relate to his human side, and shortcomings. Despite his sin, he remained a man after Gods heart. No matter the situation David would acknowledge God with his entire heart. God was David’s desire and he wanted to remain in Gods presence. Do you desire to truly be in the presence of the Lord? I know being in His presence is my only safe place. I have tried to find refuge in many other areas, and nothing has ever made me feel safe. I had a cousin tell me one time many years ago; that when you realize God is all you truly have it can be life changing. Sure we have our family and friends but due to human nature they can fail us at any time. It is the Lord who will always be the same, and his love is never changing. 

We run to God when difficulties arise most of the time. I have learned that seeking God and putting Him in my thoughts every single day helps ease the times when my life is very turbulent. I trust his timing, I have to. Whatever may be going on in your life God knows the exact moment to pull you out and raise you up. He is never a moment too late. 

God is filling all the voids in me. He is turning my mess into a beautiful testimony, through this journey I have gained a ton of wisdom. I have been able to take that wisdom and share it with other people who are just like me. We do not all have the same struggle and often I would think I was hopeless, and would never change. It is a blessing to feel how God has developed me from the old person I use to be. I have been able to be bold and transparent about my struggles so nothing hides in my closet! I do not mind telling anybody that I still have a long way to go, but where I am now is a miracle from God. God has allowed the pain I endured to produced a dream in my heart, a career, goals, ambition, and faith. I am a big Mental Health advocate and decided to go back to school to educate myself further on these issues so that I can help others. I am now a proud college graduate and single mother. Currently pursuing a higher degree. I had my share of setbacks and made very poor choices, might even make some more! Today is a new day. Now don’t ever tell me what God can’t do. I did not have the will power on my own, I was terrified to move. So many factors come to play with how our thinking develops. God’s love is sufficient for any need. The spirit of fear was not given to us. Scientifically speaking fear is a psychological behavior that we learn. 

Waiting on God isn’t an easy task, but God is worth waiting for. Truth be told I am in a journey now where it seems my life is very stagnant. It went from very active to not really much going on. In the meantime, I just keep writing, learning, praising, and try to be a light to other people. 

We can make good use of this time by discovering what God is teaching us. I learned the most about myself during stagnant periods like I am currently in. Patience-a fruit of the spirit we all have access to. (See Galatians 5:22-23)

Like I said yesterday; “Don’t doubt or resent God’s timing”. If you have any fears today, I urge you to take immediate action and spill it out to our creator. He can handle anything you have to say. He blesses the humble and authentic prayers. Do not let fear paralyze your mind.

Read Psalms 27 as a reminder.

Love & Light💞💕💞

V-

Leave a comment